Learners awarded for academic excellence

05 November 2019 | Youth

Leandrea Louw

The next awards ceremony was slated for yesterday, where all outstanding arts learners were awarded.

Half honorary colours were awarded to Laura Damster, Ané Oberholzer and Nelrie Zwemstra (grade 8), Ané Schumacher and Laelan Willemse (grade 10) and Jamey Bruyns (grade 11).

Full honorary colours were awarded to Chris Fourie, Karli Rudolph, Hendrik Smit and Mia van Wyk (grade 9), Corné Engelbrecht and Renaldo van der Merwe (grade 11), Shani-Lee Broodryk Zurialle de Bairos, Michelle du Plessis, John Faul, Maurice Hinterholzer, Sue-Melle Mans, Lee-Anne Shozi, Melanie Steenkamp, Dehan van der Merwe and Ethen Visagie von Solms (grade 12).

Best improvement for the year awards were given to Monique Grobler (grade 8), Herman Krauze (grade 9), Scott Winborn (grade 10), Caleb Adams (grade 11) and Nathan Augustus (grade 12).

The mayor’s shield for the best grade 12 learner in science was awarded to Maurice Hinterholzer.

The learners of the year are Laura Damster (grade 8), Henrik Smit (grade 9), Ané Schumacher (grade 10), Renaldo van der Merwe (grade 11) and Maurice Hinterholzer (grade 12).

Michelle du Plessis was the recipient of the principal’s award.

This year’s most coveted award, the dux award, was awarded to Mia van Wyk as the junior dax and John Faul as the senior dux.

The senior optima ludi is Maurice Hinterholzer and the junior optima ludi is Mia Van Wyk.

The 2020 secondary phase prefects were also announced.

The head boy is Dian Neethling and his deputy is Divan van Vreden. The head girl is Amber Coetzee and the deputy head girl is Nicole Wittmann. The rest of the prefects are Caleb-James Adams, Dominique Bouwer, Ettienne Beukes, Amelia Brits, Niël Brand, Jamey Bruyns, Corné Engelbrecht, Zoë du Plessis, Eli Engelbrecht, Shá-uri Hoffmann, Jarred Mouton, Cáleigh Jordaan, Brandon-Lee Titus, Ané Nel, Rohan van der Bank, Kara Reichert, Johann van der Merwe and Mianka Robberts.

The primary phase prefects for 2020 are Theuns Alberts as head boy and Juané Brand as head girl. The rest of the team are Jeandré Bruwer, Daniël Fourie, Stephen Fourie, Cee-Jay Hoffmann, Stefan Lotriet, Christo Smit, Larissa Jankowitz, Simoné Nasilowski, Linka Reichert, Surika Roodman, Minki Rudolph and Cheyenne Turner.