Duinesig learners shine

01 October 2019 | Education

Leandrea Louw

Duinesig Combined School in Walvis Bay hosted its annual prize-giving and valedictory ceremony recently.

The excellence in leadership award went to Sigrid Abraham. This award recognises the learner who has given outstanding service and demonstrated exemplary leadership in the execution of their activities, which furthered the mission of the school, the Walvis Bay community and the Erongo Region. Sigrid served as the first learner of the school and also represented it on the junior town council of Walvis Bay.

The most versatile award went to Le-Shade Kaoseb. This award is given to a learner who made exceptional leadership contributions during the year.

Kaoseb was honoured for her leadership and organising skills, and for taking up the responsibility for numerous grade activities during the past two years.

She has been active in fundraising activities and events hosted by the school. She has also played a strong leadership role on the matric committee and has been a leading figure in the choir.

The sport personality of the year award went to Tasha Egumbo. She was part of the Erongo regional team that took part in the Newspaper Cup in Mariental earlier this year.

Joseph Tjiwuweni received the perseverance award. He is an example of somebody who does not let their circumstances get to him.

The principal’s award went to four learners: Sara Weyulu, Monica Ndakolo, Helena Areses and Helena Kambongela.

Special awards for English and Afrikaans were awarded to Monica Ndakolo, while special awards also went to Cindy Reys (social sciences), Monica Ndakolo (commerce) and Thobias Eliaser (natural sciences).

The class of the year award went to 12A and the dux trophy was awarded to Ndakolo.