CAF announces fixtures

Women’s football on the cards

09 December 2019 | Sports


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Thursday released the fixtures for the Under-17, U-20 and senior teams in the 2020 Women's Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers.

The fixtures for the qualifiers early next year, released by the Women's Desk at the Namibia Football Association, sees the senior national women's team being drawn against Botswana in the first round of the qualifiers.

Namibia will play the first match at home before travelling to Botswana for the second leg of the knockout matches on dates that are yet to be confirmed by CAF.

The winner of the two-legged first-round knockout matches will face either Gabon or Central Africa in the second round.

The winner of the second round will qualify for the 2020 tournament.

The 2020 event is due to be an expanded version of the competition, with 12 teams.

The last edition was hosted by Ghana in 2018, where eight teams sought the continental title. Nigeria was crowned the winner after beating South Africa in the final.

Namibia hosted the competition in Windhoek in 2014.

In the U-20 age group, Namibia was drawn against Botswana again, with the first match scheduled for Windhoek on either 17, 18, or 19 January 2020.

The second round is scheduled for Botswana on 31 January, or 01 or 02 February 2020.

The winner will face either Zambia or South Africa in the first round, with the first leg scheduled for 20, 21 or 22 March 2020, while the second leg will be played on 27, 28 or 29 March.

The second and final qualifying round will see the winners of the first round facing Burundi, Ethiopia, Malawi or Zimbabwe, depending on who wins the preliminary and first rounds of qualification between those four teams.

The second round, first leg is scheduled for 24, 25, or 26 April, while the second leg is a fixture for 08, 09, or 10 May 2020.

The winners of this round will qualify for the finals.

In the U-17 qualifiers Namibia have been drawn against Zambia in the preliminary round on 10, 11 or 12 January 2020 for the first leg in Namibia, while the second leg is scheduled for 24, 25 or 26 January in Zambia.

The winner will play South Africa, who received a first round bye in February and March in the first round.

The winner of the first round will then proceed to play Botswana, Zimbabwe, Djibouti or Morocco in the second and final qualifying round in May.