Battle lines drawn

21 September 2021 | Sports

Limba Mupetami


The top eight clubs to compete in the quarter-finals of the MTC Namibia Football Association Cup Aweh have been confirmed.

Blue Waters, Young Brazilians, Young African, Citizens, Khuse, Civics, Tigers and Mighty Gunners will battle it out this weekend in do-or-die clashes.

The venue for the matches will still be decided, according to the organisers, with coaches polishing up weekend tactics in order to progress to the last stage.

On Saturday, Blue Waters’ Paulus Shipanga said they will use their best players in order to get the goals at the end of the day. The team reached the quart-finals having won a penalty shootout (6-5) over Western Spurs at the Jan Wilken Stadium in Walvis Bay, following a goalless 90 minutes.

Another coach, Tolla Julius of Young Brazilians, said coming this far in the competition is already an achievement for them and they will not take it lightly.

“This is the first time the players are coming this far and they want to go farther. We have played them before in the league. We went out guns blazing from the start.”


“We are ready. We don’t want to go to penalties at all,” he said. Young Brazilians eliminated hot favourites Black Africa from the competition last weekend at the Mariental Stadium, saying they beat them on fitness. They will play at the SKW Stadium in Windhoek on Saturday at 14:00.

Mali Ngarizemo’s Young African will face Citizens over the weekend as well. The former beat Ohangwena Nampol 5-4 on penalties to advance after a goalless draw.

Ngarizemo said he only had two weeks to work with the players, but added that he is happy with how they played.

“It doesn’t matter how we won. A win is a win. The players have recuperated very well and we will approach Citizens just like any other team,” he said. Young African will face Citizens at the SKW Stadium at 16:00.

Khuse will go up against Civics at the Oscar Norich Stadium in Tsumeb at 14:00. Meanwhile, Tigers and Mighty Gunners will face off at the same venue at 16:00.