Ahrens misses IOC spot

05 August 2021 | Sports



Namibia’s Gaby Ahrens missed out on a spot as a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but congratulated the winners nevertheless.

A total of 30 candidates stood for the four available positions on the Commission. Former Olympic shooter Ahrens received 704 votes, with Spanish basketball legend Paul Gasol (1 888), Italian swimmer Federica Pellegrini (1 674), Japanese fencer Yuki Ota (1 616) and Polish cyclist Maja Martyna Wloszczowska (1 674) being elected to the IOC Athletes' Commission.

They will serve seven-year terms through to the closing ceremony of the 2028 Olympics in Los Angeles.

The four replace outgoing Athletes' Commission chair Kirsty Coventry, vice-chair Danka Barteková, Tony Estanguet of France and Australian James Tomkins.

“Elections are over. Unfortunately, I did not gather enough votes to make it amongst the top four. However, my heart is full and I’m so grateful for the Olympians who voted for me and congratulations to the newly elected members,” Ahrens said.

The IOC revealed that 6 825 athletes voted in the election, where a total of 11 voting stations were set up at the Olympic Village and satellite villages for sports not being held in Tokyo, including race walks, sailing and track cycling. A vote will now be held to elect the chair and vice-chair on Friday.